Sunday, March 28, 2010

AAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Virtual screaming - almost as good at relieving stress as the real deal. A real scream, however, might attract undue attention from my parents downstairs at this particular moment. :)

I don't have a lot to say, just felt like updating this thing... So here are the points I would like to make at this particular moment:

1) I think neuro is a "sink or swim" kind of class...and right now, I'm definitely drowning. I didn't realize how much I've taken breathing easy for the first half of this semester for granted, but now I feel like I'm struggling for air. I've got to fix this ASAP.

2) Boys are stupid. Well, maybe not stupid per say, but they definitely seem to be missing this little piece of their brain that makes them actually GET it when there's a problem. Maybe that should be my goal in neuro, to find out what part of the brain that is that females seem to have a perfectly good grasp on, but males are completely lacking.

3) I find it slightly amusing (but only slightly) that the two things most important things in my life are making me completely and utterly miserable these days... And yet, I can't even say that if I could go back and do it all over again, I would do it any other way. Even knowing how miserable it would make me. Does this make me a glutton for punishment? Probably, but that's the life of a M1. :)

4) It's funny how on the days that make you want to pull your hair out or curl up into a ball and cry for hours, you hear/see something that makes you realize just how fortunate you really are. Today was one of those days. I really don't think I could be any luckier... I have an amazing family that loves and supports me, the most awesome group of friends a girl could ask for, and a man that adores me. There's a lot of people in the world that don't have any of those things.

5) And on a more positive note, there's only 7 weeks of school left. I'm finally coming back out of my shell and being more active in school (I started out that way, then regressed, but now... I'm back baby!

Monday, March 22, 2010

Back to Reality

So this past week was AMAZING. I always enjoy spring break and not being in school, but this year's was so much better than normal. The last week of school was terrible, but I made it through and onto 7 days of bliss in the Caribbean. We went cruising out of New Orleans and spent 3 days on the boat and 3 days in port....Belize City Belize, Isla Roatan Honduras, and Cozumel Mexico. It was absolute heaven! Sunshine for the most part, temps in the 80s, and some of the most gorgeous water I've ever seen in my life. Snorkeling in Belize was b-e-a-u-tiful!!!! Zip-lining and playing with the monkeys in Roatan was incredible, and Cozumel was awesome as ever. Oh, and you can't go cruising without mentioning the food. So much food, all so delicious. I'm pretty sure I gained 10 pounds in the past week, but it was oh so worth it!

Unfortunately, now it's back to reality. As if to welcome us home from our break, it was freezing cold yesterday and SNOWING!!!! Ugh. I really never thought I would see a time when I was sick of snow in Mississippi. Now school has started back, and I can already tell I best get paddling if I want to stay afloat for these last 8 weeks. Med school is definitely a "sink or swim" kind of thing when it comes to classes. Fingers crossed for pulling off a 4.0 "semester" for once...

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

And when everyone said it can't be done.....Ducks fly together!

So I've had random lines from The Mighty Ducks popping into my head throughout the day, thanks to one of my med school friend's facebook statuses this morning. It makes me laugh and miss those good ole days when I was a kid. I couldn't tell you how many times I've seen that movie, and I'm making M and N watch it with me again after spring break. :)

Other than that, school sucks as always. This has been physiology hell week. Respiratory test Monday, cumulative final today (Wednesday), and our NBME board exam in phys on Friday. Thank God it's spring break after that!

I'm very glad that I have something to look forward to right now. And I'm very blessed that I have the wonderful family I have, and that we are able to go on vacations like our cruise. I feel so bad...I have a great life, and I really shouldn't complain...but right now, it's hard not to. It's hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I don't know, maybe it's just that 'kick 'em when they're down" mentality but it just seems like everything that could possibly go bad has gone bad lately. I finally had the talk I've been dreading with my mom, and that just went over swimmingly. Ugh. I was informed, the night before a major test, that the love of my life is getting deployed this summer. I've had 6 tests in the past two weeks, and another one coming up Friday....this is the definition of stressed out.

And on top of all that, I've been missing Aunt Lorrie really bad lately. I wish I could talk to her, about all of it. She was always the one that was interested in what I was learning in school, which probably came from her being a nurse, and I could really use her advice on other currently taboo subjects in my house. Gosh, I really do miss her..........

Monday, March 1, 2010

breathe in, breathe out, move on...

This past week has been hell. There's no other way to describe it. First the phys test was a real booger, although I left it feeling better than I expected. Got that grade back today too, it was my second-highest test grade this semester. Whoop whoop! And then Thursday we had histo. Ugh. I studied with M for 12 hours. 12 HOURS. I felt good, I felt confident, and I really thought I knew that stuff... Yeah, you can see where this is going, right? Well, I have never in my life walked out of a test feeling like that. I don't even know how to describe it... disappointed in myself, completely freaked out, and more than slightly mad at the teacher for making that test 100000000000000000x more difficult than it needed to be or SHOULD have been. And after that, the stress was multiplied about a thousandfold for doing well on the histo board that was this morning. Thankfully I feel ok about that one... no thanks to my actual course in histology, but because of my biochem classes from State. I always knew I'd love my major. :)

After the test things got better though. Went to Keifers for lunch with the best M1 girls and our favorite grad student ever. It was yummy and delicious as Keifers always is, and we had an awesome time talking and laughing and celebrating that pointless class being "histo-ry" as I heard someone call it... It was kind of funny too, since we ended up with a group about our size of 30-somethings on one side of us and another group of 50 to 60-somethings on the other side. We decided it was a peak into our future lives, both 10 years from now and 30 years from now. If I still have such amazing friends at that point in my life, I'll be doing great!

Now I'm just sitting at the house trying to get the mental energy to catch up on phys and genetics before those tests. And I'm mentally planning my wardrobe for Spring Break. I so cannot wait. This year it couldn't come at a better time.

12 DAYS TIL I'M CRUISING!!!!