Sunday, December 20, 2009

Christmas Time?

I don't know what it is about this year, but it just doesn't feel like Christmas. Maybe it's the family stuff... maybe it's the fact that I wasn't out of school until a week before Christmas... I don't really know. All I know is that I'm just not feeling the holiday spirit yet.

I've been out of school for 3 days now, and my life hasn't slowed down in the least. I've got too much stuff that piled up during those last weeks of school that still needs to be done, and I still have to get about half my Christmas shopping done. Yes, 5 days before Christmas. That's what medical school does to your "free time."

Anyway, that's enough complaining from me. I hope everyone has a great and wonderful week. Oh, and of course... MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

So, it's been a VERY long time since I updated this thing... And I'll be honest, I pretty much forgot about it. Ha, that's just how my life is these days.

But in other news, Christmas vacation starts in 3 short days (well, maybe not so short, but still). I need the break so badly. My mind has had way too much stuff going on to be able to focus as much as I need to. There's only 2 biochem tests (cumulative final + national Boards) between me and FREEDOM! I wish I could say it'll be easy, but I know that's not the case. I'm so incredibly thankful that I've managed to pass all my classes this semester. Granted, I still have biochem to take, but I'm pretty sure I can't fail that class now. It helps that I've been nominated "tutor" for this awesome group of friends I've found through the past 5 months, so they make me explain things, which makes me learn them. It's a wonderful system. :)

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

What have I gotten myself into???

It's been two weeks. Holy crap, I can't believe it's only been two weeks.
Welcome to med school. Ugh.

As you can tell, I just started my first year of medical school. And after only two weeks, I decided I needed a place to vent, and just to share my experiences. Everybody says med school is different, they say it's hard, they say it takes over your life. In case you were wondering, THEY WEREN'T KIDDING! It's crazy...it's insane...it's impossible to explain.

Anyway, here's a quick recap of the past two weeks... we've had about two months worth of biochem information in two weeks, along with two or three other classes to learn. Our first test? Yeah, that was a week into school. And on the first day of Gross lab, which is a nightmare all in itself. At this point, I just really don't want to talk about it. Failure...I think that word is a med student's worst nightmare. We start on the front tomorrow, hopefully it'll go better than last week's dissection. I don't think my self-esteem can handle 6 months of hearing Dr. B telling us that we screwed up yet again.

And on a completely separate note... I recently found out that somebody I know (we're staying nameless here) took advantage of another friend, a MARRIED friend mind you, while said friend was smashed out of his mind and basically passed out. I mean, HOW can you do that??? It's immoral, it's disgusting, and it's just plain WRONG! What happened to good, honest, loyal people?